Listening To:

Reading:

Wishing:

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2002-12-09 - 11:29 a.m.
Gen X

I am such a jaded gen-Xer. I have all the classic symptoms of it. I am cynical and sarcastic, I love Schoolhouse Rock and all things 80�s, I learned the Alphabet and how to count from Sesame Street, and I�m patiently waiting for all the baby boomers to retire so we can inherit the earth. That�s what we�ve all been told for so many years� that there are more of them than there are of us, and eventually� when they get old and start to leave the workforce, we�ll all have our pick of the good jobs. The world will need us, there�s going to be a huge void created when they all start getting old at once and start retiring. None of us really believe it, we�re too cynical, but we wait for it nonetheless. I think that�s the only thing that keeps those of my generation going. I know so many who have university degrees and forty thousand dollars in student debt, and are working menial jobs in coffee shops and fast-food restaurants, retail stores and even as farm labour. This contributes to the cynicism that I think was already naturally present� we�ve been raised by a bunch of ex-hippies who distrusted the previous generation and promised us that they�d do better for us. I don�t think they did any worse by us than their parents did for them, but I fail to see how it�s that much better. I doubt we�ll do much better for our children, either.

That isn�t to say that we are doomed as a whole. I really believe that eventually, we�ll live in the kind of world every human being dreams of� I just think it�ll take longer than anybody suspects. It certainly won�t happen in my lifetime, nor in the lifetime of anyone currently alive. We do learn, it�s just a painfully slow process. All we can do is the best we can, and hope each step brings us a little closer� we hope that those coming after us will remember where we�ve been and keep going.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >