Listening To:Piece of My Heart... Janis Joplin

Reading:same as yesterday

Wishing:um... it's still a secret ;)

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2003-09-16 - 6:33 a.m.
first impression of class

Began classes on Sunday. First impression- I am by far the youngest person taking this course! They�re all at least ten years older than me, and I imagine they all make at least twice what I do, likely more. In the class, we have two guys who own their own business, two lawyers, one from the manufacturing sector (I think that guy�s a department head or something), two girls from Canadian Blood Services, one from the Board of Education, and so on. I�m the only one working in food service. They all looked at me like I was nuts.

It�s a good thing I am not easily discouraged. I felt much better half-way through the afternoon, when I realized that I already had a better grasp on this material than the lawyers, and far more than the guys running their own business. And I look at it this way- if I don�t want to be working in food service for the rest of my life, if I want to advance in my career in any way� this is the first step to doing it. Applying myself and working hard is the only way I can make that happen. I�m taking the initiative to educate myself and get farther than I would if I just the basic job duties my job involves and no more. I have to remind myself- everything that I have in this world, I have fought for and won. Maybe that sounds a little extreme or dramatic, but I can think of a time when I had to choose between buying medication to be able to breathe or buying food. I lived in a tiny apartment infested with a plague of mice of Biblical proportions. I didn�t have much in the way of confidence. All that�s changed now, and it�s because I worked for it. I can continue to improve my lot, and all I have to do is be willing to work for it.

I�d better go get my shoes on and get moving. I�m working the day shift for most of this week, and I don�t want to be late.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >