Listening To:

Reading:

Wishing:

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2002-10-11 - 11:35 p.m.
migrane and shawshank

I feel lousy, my allergies are really bothering me and it hurts behind my eyes because my sinuses are so congested. I can�t take too much in the way of medication for it, or I�ll become all stupid. When you have to work and be alert, coming in drugged is not an option. So I live with the pain behind my eyes- it�s really unique. It feels as if someone has filled my skull with cotton soaked in battery acid. It hurts to look at this screen too long, so just a quick update and then I take a bubble bath and go to bed. The Tylenol I took for the pain is wearing off, so I think I might just make a cup of hot chocolate and lace it liberally with brandy. That might work better than acetaminophen has. Even if it just knocks me out and lets me sleep properly for a night, then I can go in to work tomorrow feeling human again. Between getting my period early with a double dose of crampage and the headache, I�ve just not really been myself.

Reading Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption now, and I�m rather enjoying it. What a nice story, rich with irony and very compelling characters. I grew up reading Stephen King- I read Night Shift for the first time when I was 7 years old (it kind of made reading the Little House on the Prairie books in school a bit� well, dull) and I enjoy most of his stories, but I have come to think that his best works are when he moves away from the shock and gore. Shawshank actually reminds me a little of John Irving, and like Jillsy Sloper says in the book� �it�s so true�. I like tales that I can believe might have happened, or that I feel should have happened. As soon as I stop believing in the story, you�ve lost me� that�s why I enjoyed the first Earth�s Children novel far more than the following three. Oh, I�ll probably read the fifth book when it comes out, but now that Ayla is supposed to have domesticated the horse and the dog, invented needle and thread and liberated a colony of enslaved men from and Amazonian-like tribe� well, sorry. I don�t believe in it any more. The first book was at least plausible. And all the sex! I mean, I am not a prude by any means (as anyone who has read the fiction I have written can testify to), but the plot itself should not suffer in favour of the juicy bits. I think when I finish this, I may read Lord of the Flies again. Now there�s a terrifyingly believable story.

In any case, my temples are throbbing and I just want a good long soak, so enough for tonight.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >