Listening To:You Don't Know... Cyndi Lauper

Reading:nothing yet... start a new book this evening

Wishing:the last of my cold to go away

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2003-08-16 - 8:11 p.m.
TMI and the blackout

That is too funny. What a silly quiz, SO raunchy. I look at a lot of these quizzes on Quizdiva and I think that perhaps some of the results of these might be more information than most people will want to know. Perhaps posting that you are a �moan� might be too much information for the average person visiting your diary/web log/journal, especially if you have family visiting your site.

Or maybe you can be just like me and think it�s too funny not to post regardless of who might see it.

I survived the blackout. Like Portia says, the big question is �where were you when the lights went out?�

I was at work, and I was stripping down the iced cappuccino machine and getting the girls to sweep the floor, when the whole place went black. I had to ask all the customers to leave and lock the doors and turn everything off. At the time, we didn�t think it would be more than ten, fifteen minutes before we had power again. It was still light enough to see for the most part, so I started the girls cleaning some things up- I told them that we might as well keep busy in the meantime. We got the floors cleaned up and some things stocked up, and as time passed� we started to become a little more worried because it seemed like SUCH a large area was without power. When the girl working in the chip wagon nearby stopped over and told us she�d been listening to the news and that there was no power in the whole city� the girls started to get a little worried. I know all of us had thoughts of possible terrorist attacks� with this being an industrial city, it would be a potential target. Eventually, when it became clear that no-one in the area was getting power back soon, it was decided to move everything perishable into the back where it would stay cooler for a longer time, and send everyone home. While it was kind of nice to get out early (I still felt kind of crummy), the whole thing was kind of a pain. It was difficult to reach anyone else on staff to tell them what was going on, whether or not to be at work� crazy. We did manage okay, and got everything taken care of, and things are pretty much back to normal now. It was funny going in last night and reopening- people kept asking us why we had so few donuts, muffins, no ice and so on� try telling these people that it�s difficult to produce things with no electricity. How much ice did your freezer make during the blackout, dumb*ss? The one guy actually had the nerve to say �You should fire your baker, he�s not doing his job�, My response to that was �We�ve had hydro for half an hour, I think she is doing a great job catching up.� The guy looked embarrassed and clammed up, thank God. I wasn�t rude to the guy, but I don�t feel I have to stand there and listen to some moron criticize someone who�s doing the best they can with the resources available to her.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >