Listening To:Nellie McKay- Get Away From Me!

Reading:none... i ache for new books

Wishing:for enough reliable staff to run the store smoothly

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

Friday, Sept. 24, 2004 - 10:16 p.m.
an impromptu palmist

Today I had many interesting things happen at work. I did a few interviews- both of which were fine and I think the girls I saw might well work out for us. That�s a good thing. We need more people- I�m tired of 10-15 hour days. My constitution can�t handle it.
The toaster broke down just before lunch. Fun-wow. This is not a good thing to happen in a bagel shop. People were kind of snippy about it. On one hand, I can�t blame them. I like my bagels toasted too- but don�t take it out on the girls. Called a dozen places for repair, they all tell me �oh, we can get it looked at on Monday.� Yeah. Like that�ll help us- tomorrow is a big Jewish holiday, and we�re in a big Jewish neighborhood and we�re the only bagel shop open for miles tomorrow. We really need the toaster! I finally found one that would fix it the same day. He came, fixed it, checked out our backup toaster as well (very courteous and didn�t charge us extra for it or for the parts, so I gave him a bagel for free) and everything was fine again.
This rude old woman came in- she parked in the handicapped space first of all. Sure, she had a tag. But she walked in just fine and I doubt there was anything wrong with her. That pisses me off to start- don�t abuse a handicapped tag. If someone in your family needs the crip space, then you�re entitled to use it when they�re with you in the vehicle! Don�t use it when they stayed home. Anyway, I had the Rat Pack radio station on. You know- Sinatra and all the best of big band and swing. I asked K if she liked my radio station, and she said she did, because it was so cheerful. Well, the rude old bat pipes up then �I hate it! It�s too loud and it�s obnoxious!� Bitch. She�d been sitting there an hour with the radio on and said nothing until she heard we liked it- it was so just for the sake of being a bitch. So I smiled and asked her what she would like to listen to, because we have a selection of stations and there should be one she�d like. She gave me a dirty look- her mouth all puckered up like a cat�s bum. I don�t think she expected me to be so pleasant about it and she really looked disappointed I was nice to her- but what is she going to do? Complain I was too nice? She looked just like a California Raisin, and she sat down in her chair without offering any suggestions. I put the light classical station on and then when she left, changed it right back.
Then this funny old man came in and demanded I show him my palm, and he read it for me. He said I was sick a lot as a kid (true!) but I am healthier now (true!). He said I would soon discover, if I hadn�t already, a man who would be very important in my life and I would love with all my heart (I hope it is true!). He said I can be kind of conservative, but I love very strongly and have a kind heart. He also said I have to be careful with money, because I am too giving.
That was the high point of the evening. I am soooooo tired, I am off to bed now.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >