Listening To:

Reading:

Wishing:

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2003-06-23 - 3:27 a.m.
Does God screw people around?

Last night I was talking with Kelvar and arguing with him about whether or not God screws people around. This was how it went.

Kelvar: So have you heard about the guy that God wanted dead

Kelvar: seems some guy got trapped outside in a lightening storm

Kelvar: with his girlfriend

Kelvar: they sought shelter

Kelvar: he was struck by lightening

Vego: ? and then what

Kelvar: and then he survived and continued to wait out the storm

Kelvar: and then

Kelvar: was struck by lightening again

Vego: wow

Kelvar: he died the second time

Vego: not so lucky, then

Kelvar: so I figure God must have wanted that guy dead

Vego: well, certainly got what he wanted if that was the case

Kelvar: course you'd figure if God wanted him he wouldn't need a second chance

Vego: unless God likes to toy with people

Vego: and there is biblical precedent for God screwing people around a bit

Kelvar: I think it's likely he had the worst luck ever

Kelvar: well Satan screws them around

Kelvar: God just gives him permission

Vego: what about Abraham and Isaac then?

Vego: didn't he kind of screw them around a bit?

Kelvar: maybe a touch

Kelvar: I bet that kid never turned his back on his dad again

Vego: likely not

Vego: i know i wouldn't, except if i recall correctly, Isaac didn't seem all that aware of what was really going on

Kelvar: or maybe he just trusted his father THAT much

Vego: also could be true

Vego: it turned out ok in the end, but as a kid i really thought that God had a mean streak after that

Kelvar: well God has to go pretty far to prove points because people have a bad habit of not listening till AFTER something bad happens

Vego: that is also true, we humans are kind of stupid that way

Vego: when the supreme being tells you something, it is generally a good idea to pay attention.

I had an extremely busy afternoon at work. It was rather slow business-wise, so I kept myself going with other things. I cleaned the ice capp machine (which was slimy inside, and smelled like coffee-flavoured beer), scrubbed the grout under the oven, repainted over the graffiti in the ladies� room (this is why it should be illegal to sell permanent markers to people under 21), took all the fake plants down and washed them (and people kept telling me �they�re fake, they won�t grow if you water them) and delimed the dishwasher. Busy little me! W.O.V. says they don�t pay me enough� but like anyone gets rich working as a coffee-slinging robot. Money isn�t everything.

Tomorrow I don�t have to work, and I plan to spend most of the day in the garden with Oscar. Maybe Portia might like to go for a swim tomorrow evening� but no matter what, I�m not going to waste the day. I�m going to enjoy it to the fullest� summer evenings off are a precious commodity to me, so I�m going to make the most of it. Which requires me to go to bed now.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >