Listening To:

Reading:

Wishing:

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2003-07-16 - 3:05 a.m.
more ebay ramblings and the life of a Schnauzer

I took a bath and I soaked for a long time in apple-scented bubbles, listening to the water trickling into the tub. What made it come to mind, I don�t know� but I got to musing about pets I�ve had, and how they�ve been some of the beings I�ve loved the most in my life� and I got a little teary-eyed thinking about some of them. I still miss some of my little friends.

I can remember a time when my mom swore never to let me have another one, because my dog had died and I cried so hard for so long� I don�t think she really understood that I was grieving because I had literally just lost my best friend. I don�t think she understood that the tears and that process were good and healthy� and that it was all a part of coming to terms with that. I don�t think it did me any harm- I�m pretty resilient although I can be emotional. I�ve seen some people who never had pets, and when they get older and a person in their life dies, they can�t deal with it. They can�t adapt� it�s such a shock to them. I lose someone I love, and I�ll grieve, and I�ll cry� and I�ll miss them for the rest of my life� but it gets easier. It doesn�t go away, but it gets easier. You never stop missing that person, or forget them� but it becomes less painful after a while.

Then I started to think about relationships I�ve had that didn�t work out� there�s only one ex-boyfriend I have that I�m really still on speaking terms with. The rest of them, although I loved them dearly� they�re entirely gone from my life too. So I grieved for them as well� and there are times I still think about them and miss things about them (well, most of them. I can think of one I actually don�t miss because he was evil), but I don�t feel any particular need or desire to see them. I don�t feel too badly that I don�t see them any more. If something happened to any of them, I�d probably grieve again a little� but I could deal with it. I�d be sad, but I would also be okay.

So this is my theory� I think that having pets is the healthiest thing for a kid. Not just because of the love and companionship and sense of responsibility that they give, but because when they die, they teach us things that will help us the rest of our lives. They prepare us for the worst losses life can throw at you. They teach us how to grieve and let go, and keep going. That�s a pretty precious gift, and even a lizard or a goldfish has it in them to pass that lesson on.

On a less somber note� I spent lots of time with Oscar tonight, taking him for extra walkies and cuddling him while watching TV. I am seriously thinking of making and selling the biscuits I make for him online. He loves them, and I bet there are other people who�d like to have all-natural gourmet treats for their spoiled little dogs. My Ebay Auctions seem to be doing ok so far, and I think it could be fun. The Fraggles are both going, but I�m kind of surprised the Cabbage Patch figures haven�t been bid on as yet. I priced them pretty low� ah, well. I made enough off of Uncle Travelling Matt already to cover the listing fees for all the items, and I can always put them up again. I won�t be listing anything else until it�s decided whether or not Canada Post is going to strike- I don�t want to have auctions finish and then have to explain to people why I can�t ship their items right away. At least I don�t have to worry about packing materials� I can get good, strong, reasonable-sized boxes from work for free, and we�ve got a paper shredder so we can shred newspaper for more fragile items. If it�s something that could be stained, W.O.V. said he can get bubble wrap from work for nothing for me because they just throw it out after the stuff�s unwrapped. He said they couldn�t possibly care less if he brings it home. Whee! Budget shipping and handling. Sounds cheap, but that stuff can get expensive, and I think people will be more eager to buy collectibles from us if they don�t have to pay extra for packing supplies. I think much of the extra money I�ll earn this way (heh� extra money� is there such a thing?) will just go to supporting my habit. I�m rapidly becoming an Ebay junkie. I am hoping that I can get enough from the items I don�t need or want any more to get the things I really do want, like a Fisher-Price Little People Castle. That was a beautiful toy.

In any case, it�s late and Oscar wants his before-bedtime walk. I think he wants to make sure there are no cats in his territory before he turns in.

In my next life, I want to come back as a Miniature Schnauzer. Oscar really has a sweet deal- he sleeps in the bed with me, with his head on my pillow. He has more toys than some children, and he gets lots of walkies and a nice, big yard to play in. His Mummy makes him homemade cookies. All he�s ever known his whole life is people being nice to him and being his friend. He even has his own webpage telling of his exploits. What a brat.

previous next

�
carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >