Listening To:How Can I Keep From Singing... Enya

Reading:The Joy Luck Club... Amy Tan

Wishing:That people would bloody well leave me alone when I'm working.

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

2003-07-24 - 3:03 a.m.
peanut butter cookies! leave me alone, damnit

I was reading the local newspaper today and I found a recipe for peanut butter cookies that I thought was interesting. I felt the need to scan it and share it with all of you because it was such an interesting recipe.

Now, it might just be me� but when you make cookies, don�t you usually put flour in them? And baking soda, and vanilla, and other such things? I think if I made those the way the recipe actually dictates, I�d get a hard-in-places-goopy-in-others greasy mess. Yuck.

I spent a good part of this evening on my hands and knees scrubbing with a small vegetable brush in between the floor tiles at work. I don�t mind the work itself so much- it�s kind of satisfying to clean something and see a visible difference when you finish. Even the physical fatigue isn�t too bad- at least when I get home I am assured that I�ll be tired enough to sleep well through the night. No, what ticks me off is the constant idiotic comments by the customers who come in and see me at my task.

�oh, did you and the boss have a fight?�

No, sometimes these things just have to be done.

�want to come and do that at MY house when you�re finished?�

Sure, you want to pay me the same these people do?

�shouldn�t you get someone else to do that?�

Yeah, it�ll be really easy to motivate my crew to do their share of the rough jobs if I slack off and don�t take my turn. Just because I�m the supervisor doesn�t mean I get to just make everyone else do all the icky stuff.

Then my personal favourite�

�having fun yet?�

Gee, that�s so funny. That�s the first time I�ve heard that comment� today. God, just shut up already! Doesn�t it occur to any of these people that maybe I�d just like to be left alone to finish the humiliating and somewhat backbreaking task I have before me? I don�t mind doing it so much, I do mind being harassed as I do it.

Why won't people just leave me alone and let me do my job?

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >