Listening To:In Liverpool... Suzanne Vega on my Completely Random playlist

Reading:Literotica discussion boards

Wishing:that i could stay inside and drink hot chocolate with Oscar

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2004 - 2:01 p.m.
weekend in Buffalo

Had a lovely weekend visiting my dad. We did some shopping, had dinner at a Chinese buffet (it was very busy because of the new year) and stayed up late watching movies on cable. Just a nice, restful time. I am so glad I went. It was so good to spend time with my dad, and he spoiled me so rotten. Even made me waffles for breakfast! We stopped at Krispy Kreme and got a dozen donuts, and brought them back for the girls at work in the name of market research so they could test out the competition. The general consensus was that they were pretty good, only too sweet.

I also think those girls should�ve been wearing hairnets. Ew. Just� ew. And the coffee just can�t compare, it was weak and pathetic. As much as I love our neighbours to the immediate south, coffee is just something the Americans can�t seem to do. Ah, well� we all have our weaknesses. I have yet to have decent nachos in Canada.

On our shopping excursions, I got 22 cans of Progresso Lentil Soup and 15 packages of Green Apple Jell-O. It made the girl at the checkout look at me very oddly, but I can�t get those here and they were on sale! I also got a DVD of My Neighbor Totoro, and my own copy of Drop Dead Fred. I also got two ties- a black one with little squirrels (WHEE!) and a bright yellow one with hideous cartoon catfish on it. That one I am saving to wear to work on April 1st. I�m going to attempt to wear the squirrels tomorrow, provided the boss doesn�t veto my unconventional apparel.

Oscar came with us on the trip, but I think he was traumatized by the experience. Anything that disrupts his usual routine is upsetting to him to begin with. He didn�t seem to enjoy the car ride, either. The only times we�ve been in a car in recent memory were visits to the vet, which Oscar is not fond of. I think he spent the entire hour-long ride expecting to end up on that slippery stainless steel table every dog is so terrified of. Poor baby! He settled down once we arrived and he saw his favourite toy (the FluffiBall!) and had a treat, but he was kind of restless come bedtime. I guess even a dog has a hard time sleeping in an unfamiliar place. He felt the need to get up and mark new territory at 6am, something I was less than excited about. He was hilarious on the return trip- the border guard asked if we had anything to declare, and Oscar answered him in a very conversational tone. �Hrrr-whuf! Grrr-WOW! Whuf.� I looked at him, and told him� �he wasn�t talking to you. Clamped my hand down on his mouth, and he grumbled between my fingers, at which point the guard laughed and waved us through.

My dad said that as soon as a border guard laughs, you know that they aren�t stopping you. This leads me to believe humour is not a typical trait in terrorists.

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >