Listening To:My Launchcast Station

Reading:Everything's Eventual... Stephen King

Wishing:for sleep... zzzzzzz

carrots!
The current mood of lapinova at www.imood.com
get your own fun&free diary @diaryland.com
Diaryland!
learn all about vego
profile
sign my guestbook
guestbook
newest entry
newest entry
older entries
older entries
last entry
last entry
next entry
next entry
recommend my diary to a friend
tell someone
my diaryrings
my diaryrings
my baby
my baby
random rant
random
E-mail
mail me

Saturday, Jul. 24, 2004 - 9:23 p.m.
Everything's Changed

My entire life has changed within a very few days.

I am moving- i got a new job in The Big City and i will be running the show at a new store. I have never run things all by myself before, i am terrified. I grew up in a town with 1200 people in it. Where i am moving has over 2.5 million. What a change.

Still, i cannot say i am not looking forward to the change. The idea of not continually kicking prostitutes out of the bathroom is greatly appealing to me. The money is good too- it's more than i have ever had. I will start a savings account!

I will have to commute for a month. It's going to suck- but it will buy me time to find a nice place to live where Oscar is welcome.

That will be made easier by the fact that Oscar doesn't bark any more. I got him one of those citronella-spraying collars that spritz the pup when he barks. Oscar hates it with a passion and has become much quieter as a consequence. Every time he forgets himself and barks, he looks so aggravated and shamefaced. I feel terribly guilty every time it happens, but i had to do something about it. Can't go looking for an apartment with Mr. Yappy. He's funny- he's smart enough to know what the collar does and how it works, so he's started experimenting with volume. He talks in these funny little "whuf" sounds now, rather than a full-volume BARK.

Have been too wound up over all this to really eat or sleep properly. i will be tucking myself in after i finish this entry- i must take care of myself, because i cannot become ill when starting a new life.

This whole thing has been so overwhelming. The place i've been working has been home so long, and i care very much for my co-workers and crew... and to leave behind something comfortable and safe for the big unknown of a new city, new job... i've been in tears off and on all week- i am an emotional wreck. Every time the girls at work do something wonderful, i start leaking out the sides. I think they all thought i had some sort of stomach flu for the first few days before i finally told them what was going on, the way i kept racing to the bathroom and all. Who will look out for my students the way i will when i am gone? Those kids are really special to me, i care about them a lot.

Chou-Chou is the only person i know in Toronto. i am terrified, but i know i will make new friends and i will adapt. I adapted to the things i am leaving behind, didn't i? When i got there the first day i was scared to talk to anyone or touch anything- look at me now! i am already getting used to riding the subway and getting my bearings around town. This could be a very good thing, it's just so much all at once.

I will be getting rid of TONS of stuff. Friends, family, etc... can all expect lots of freebies and hand-me-downs- anything i have not used in over a year is going to go. I figure- if i haven't used it in ayear, i obviously don't need it very much. Going to eBay a few of the more valuable things, the rest goes to whoever wants it and to charity.

I am exhausted and going to bed now... work early in the morning. It's going to be some time before i get another day off- tomorrow through wed at old job, thurs-fri training for new job, sat at old job, and sun new job again. Probably work there through until Saturday! i suppose i had better sleep while i can. I likely won't update much over next two weeks, between finishing once place and beginning another, commuting and all, so wish me luck, everyone!

previous next

carrots!
Site Meter


join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

< ? blogs by women # >